Mike Riley returns 'home' to San Antonio for Alamo Bowl

The Oregon State University football team has accepted an invitation to play in the 20th Annual Valero Alamo Bowl, Sat., Dec. 29 in San Antonio, Texas. The No. 13 (BCS)/No. 14 (USA Today)/No. 15 (AP) Beavers (9-3 overall, 6-3 in Pac-12) will play the No. 23 (BCS)/No. 25 (USA Today) Texas Longhorns (8-4, 5-4 in Big 12) of the Big 12 Conference at 3:45 p.m. PST (5:45 CST) in a game that will be televised by ESPN.

This will be the initial appearance for the Beavers in the Valero Alamo Bowl and the team's first postseason game since the 2009 MAACO Bowl Las Vegas.

"It is a tremendous honor for the Beavers to play in such a prestigious bowl game," head football coach Mike Riley said. "Our team is ecstatic to represent the Pac-12 Conference and Oregon State University in the great state of Texas. We are looking forward to playing a very good Texas Longhorn team and spending part of the Holiday season in San Antonio."

Oregon State concluded the regular season third in the Pac-12 North after being predicted for last by most preseason prognosticators. OSU played one of the most difficult schedules in the country and posted victories over nationally ranked teams from Wisconsin and UCLA. OSU has been ranked a school record 11 consecutive weeks by the Associated Press and escalated to as high as No. 7 this season in the AP and BCS polls.

"This will be a great conclusion to my Beaver career," senior cornerback Jordan Poyer, a first team All-American and team co-captain said. "I'm excited to play in such a great game and against an outstanding opponent. I know we will represent the Pac-12 Conference and `Beaver Nation' with class and compete to the best of our abilities."

The Beavers return to the bowl season having had a successful run this century in the postseason. OSU is 6-2 in bowl games since the 2000 season, including 5-1 with Coach Riley at the helm of the program. The Beavers will be the sixth team from the current Pac-12 Conference to play in the Valero Alamo Bowl.

The current Beaver football team has four players from the state of Texas; safety Peter Ashton (Keller), defensive end Rudolf Fifita (Euless), safety Kendall Hill (La Marque) and running back Storm Woods (Pflugerville). Second-year running backs coach Chris Brasfield is a native of San Antonio and was a wide receiver and return specialist at TCU (1994-95) and UTEP (1991-93). Special teams coordinator Bruce Read was in the same capacity with the Dallas Cowboys (2007-08) as was secondary coach Rod Perry for the Houston Oilers (1996-96). Coach Riley was the only head coach in the brief history of the San Antonio Riders (1991-92) of the World League of American Football where he coached current Cowboys' head coach Jason Garrett (QB). Riley still owns a house in nearby Gruene on the banks of the Guadalupe River.

Season ticket holders and Beaver Athletic Student Fund (BASF) donors have until Fri., Dec. 7 to request tickets to the game. Tickets are priced at $95 and $65 and can be requested online or by calling the Beaver Ticket Office at 1-800-GO-BEAVS. The Ticket Office will be open for extended hours on Mon., Dec. 3 and Tues., Dec. 4 from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. For the remainder of the week (Dec. 5-7), the Ticket Office will be open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Non-season ticket holders/non-donors requests will be accepted starting Dec. 5. OSU students (valid student ID) can purchase tickets for $65 starting at 9 a.m. Tuesday; student tickets will be distributed on-site in San Antonio.

OSU Bowl Games History (OSU was known as Oregon State College until March 1961)

1940 Pineapple Bowl - OSC 39, Hawai'i 6

1949 Pineapple Bowl - OSC 47, Hawai'i 27

1942 Rose Bowl - OSC 20, Duke 16 (played in Durham, NC)

1957 Rose Bowl - Iowa 35, OSC 19

1962 Liberty Bowl - OSU 6, Villanova 0

1965 Rose Bowl - Michigan 34, OSU 7

1999 Oahu Bowl - Hawai'i 23, OSU 17

2001 Fiesta Bowl - OSU 41, Notre Dame 9

2002 Insight Bowl - Pittsburgh 38, OSU 13

2003 Las Vegas Bowl - OSU 55, New Mexico 14

2004 Insight Bowl - OSU 38, Notre Dame 21

2006 Sun Bowl - OSU 39, Missouri 38

2007 Emerald Bowl - OSU 21, Maryland 14

2008 Sun Bowl - OSU 3, Pittsburgh 0

2009 Las Vegas Bowl - BYU 44, OSU 20

Video courtesy of OSU Media Services