Peter Courtney will remain Oregon Senate president

PORTLAND, Ore. (AP) Peter Courtney has been nominated to lead the Oregon Senate for a sixth term.

The 69-year-old Salem Democrat has been a member of the Senate since 1998 and its president since 2003.

He has served as president longer than anyone in Oregon history. Current Gov. John Kitzhaber and two others have held the presidency for eight years.

Senate Democrats made their decision to retain Courtney while meeting at Salishan Resort on the Oregon coast. They held their 16-14 majority over Republicans in the Nov. 6 election.

Full list of 2013 Democratic leadership in the Senate:

  • Senate President: Peter Courtney (D-Salem/Woodburn/Gervais)
  • Senate President Pro Tempore: Ginny Burdick (D-Portland/Tigard)
  • Senate Majority Leader: Diane Rosenbaum (D-Portland)
  • Senate Deputy Majority Leader: Alan Bates (D-Ashland)
  • Senate Majority Whip: Mark Hass (D-Beaverton)
  • Senate Majority Whip: Arnie Roblan (D-Coos Bay)
  • Senate Assistant Majority Leader: Floyd Prozanski (D-South Lane & North Douglas Counties)
  • Senate Assistant Majority Leader: Elizabeth Steiner Hayward (D-NW Portland/Beaverton)