2018 rings in new Oregon laws that raise taxes, fees
EUGENE, Ore. (AP) — Oregon residents will start to pay more to register and drive their vehicle and to buy some beverages.
The Register-Guard reports the increase is due to a hike in fees and new taxes that take effect Jan. 1.
The state's gas tax increased by 4 cents a gallon, bringing it to 34 cents.
The state's vehicle registration increased by $13 per year.
The moves are part of a seven-year, $5.2 billion transportation package that passed in July.
The gas tax and vehicle registration fee are scheduled to increase again over the next six years.
Customers will also see a 5-cent price increase on bottle and cans of beer and soft drinks since the state raised the 5-cent deposit to 10 cents in April.
Information from: The Register-Guard, http://www.registerguard.com