Oregon women win team cross country title

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) Oklahoma State's top-ranked men and Oregon's women won NCAA cross country titles Saturday.

Oklahoma State placed four runners in the top 20 and five in the top 40 to win its fourth team title in five years.

Texas Tech's Kennedy Kithuka claimed the individual title in a course-record time of 28 minutes, 31.3 seconds, breaking the 10K mark of 29:30.7 set by Liberty's Josh McDougal in the 2007 Southeast Regional.

No. 2 Oregon won its first women's title since 1987. Jordan Hasay and Alexi Pappas finished 2-3 in scoring while placing third and eighth overall.

Four runners broke the year-old 6K course record set by Villanova's Sheila Reid at the Big East Conference championships. Iowa State's Betsy Saina was first in 19:27.9 to lead the 11th-place Cyclones.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press.