Sen. Merkley signs 'No fossil fuel money pledge,' urges colleagues to do the same

FILE -- U.S. Sen. Jeff Merkley, D-Oregon.

Oregon’s Junior Senator, Jeff Merkley, is trying to set the tone among his colleagues in Washington, and lawmakers in Oregon by signing a “no fossil fuel money pledge.”

Merkley, who’s toying with a Presidential run, appears in a video alongside members of the Sunrise movement, described as a movement to stop climate change.

"I pledge not to take money from the oil, coal and gas industry, and instead prioritize the health of our families, climate, and democracy over fossil fuel industry profits,” Merkley says reading the pledge. “Now you realize, it's not as if these companies were trying to give me money? I've been at war with them they weren't about to give me money, nor do I want their help!"

Senator Merkley signed the pledge and urged lawmakers and candidates for political office across the country to do the same.

"We're in trouble and we'll be in a lot less trouble if we dramatically transition to renewable energy and quit burning fossil fuels.”

Merkley joins more than 50 other current politicians who pledged nationwide. The full list is provided as follows, courtesy of the Sustainable Energy and Economy Network.

Full list of signatories in Oregon for No Fossil Fuel Money Pledge Who Won their elections and/or are incumbents:

  • Jeff Merkley, US Senate
  • Jeff Golden, OR Senate, 03
  • Tawna Sanchez, OR House, 43
  • Alissa Keny-Guyer, OR House, 46
  • Rachel Prusak, OR House,
  • Karin Power, OR House, 41
  • Mark Gamba, Mayor, Milwaukie, OR
  • Christine Lewis, Metro Council of OR, 02

Full list of No Fossil Fuel Money Pledge signers:

Oregon candidates who pledged, but lost:

  • Jamie McLeod-Skinner, U.S. House, OR-02
  • Ricky Barajas, US House, OR-01
  • Jenni Leahrine, U.S. House, OR-02
  • Eric Haffner, U.S. House, OR-02
  • Katy Eymann, Board of Commissioners, Coos County, OR
  • Ben Lavine, U.S. House, OR-03
  • Mark Koller, U.S. House, OR-03
  • Peter Wright, U.S. House, OR-05
  • Alex DiBlasi, Governor of Oregon
  • Patrick Starnes, Governor of Oregon
  • Charles Gallia, OR Senate, 20

No Fossil Fuel Money Pledge signers in the U.S. Congress who won their elections include:

  • Dianne Feinstein, U.S. Senate, CA
  • Bernie Sanders, U.S. Senate, VT
  • Ruben Gallego, U.S. House, AZ-07
  • Barbara Lee, U.S. House, CA-13
  • Ro Khanna, U.S. House, CA-17
  • Zoe Lofgren, U.S. House, CA-19
  • Katie Hill, U.S. House, CA-25 (likely winner)
  • Nanette Barragán, U.S. House, CA-44
  • Harley Rouda, U.S. House, CA-48 (likely winner)
  • Mike Levin, U.S. House, CA-49 (likely winner)
  • Darren Soto, U.S. House, FL-09
  • Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, U.S. House, FL-26
  • Tulsi Gabbard, U.S. House, HI-02
  • Jesús “Chuy” García, U.S. House, IL-04
  • Jan Schakowsky, U.S. House, IL-09
  • Ayanna Pressley, U.S. House, MA-07
  • Jamie Raskin, U.S. House, MD-08
  • Chellie Pingree, U.S. House, ME-01
  • Andy Levin, U.S. House, MI-08
  • Rashida Tlaib, U.S. House, MI-13
  • Dean Phillips, U.S. House, MN-03
  • Ilhan Omar, U.S. House, MN-05
  • Chris Pappas, U.S. House, NH-01
  • Deb Haaland, U.S. House, NM-01
  • Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, U.S. House, NY-14
  • Jeff Merkley, U.S. Senate, OR
  • Madeleine Dean, U.S. House, PA-04
  • Mary Gay Scanlon, U.S. House, PA-05
  • Mary Gay Scanlon, U.S. House, PA-07 (special election)
  • Susan Ellis Wild, U.S. House, PA-07
  • Susan Ellis Wild, U.S. House, PA-15 (special election; likely winner)
  • Elaine Luria U.S. House, VA-02
  • Jennifer Wexton, U.S. House, VA-10
  • Pramila Jayapal, U.S. House, WA-07
  • Kim Schrier, U.S. House, WA-08 (likely winner)
  • Adam Smith, U.S. House, WA-09
  • Gavin Newsom, Governor of California
  • Eleni Kounalakis, Lieutenant Governor of California
  • John Fetterman, Lieutenant Governor of Pennsylvania
  • David Zuckerman, Lieutenant Governor of Vermont
  • Mandela Barnes, Lieutenant Governor of Wisconsin
  • Dana Nessel, Attorney General of Michigan
  • Keith Ellison, Attorney General of Minnesota
  • Jim Condos, Secretary of State of Vermont
  • Fiona Ma, State Treasurer of California
  • Beth Pearce, State Treasurer of Vermont
  • Doug Hoffer, State Auditor of Vermont
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off